Registered Wesleyan Methodist places of worship in Huntingdonshire, 1867

Registered Wesleyan Methodist places of worship in Huntingdonshire 1867
This work incorporates historical material provided by the Great Britain Historical GIS Project and the University of Portsmouth through their web site A Vision of Britain through Time (

This is a list of chapels that had been registered by 1867, derived from ‘A list of places of meeting for public religious worship, certified to the Registrar General’.  Remember that registration was not compulsory. As registration was valid until cancelled, however, there may be duplication: i.e.  both the old and new chapels in a place may be listed (Kimbolton, in this case). We have also discovered that the official location may not be the same as the name by which the chapel is commonly described.

Unless otherwise stated each of these places of worship is described as a chapel.

The numbers on the list relate to places, and match those on the map. The base map is provided under this licence

The chapels in Huntingdonshire were part of the Bedford and Northampton District, and for information about their capacity, go to  The Returns of accommodation of 1873   Another useful map is Plate 1 of The Wesleyan Methodist Atlas

Use the search box to find out more about a chapel.

ChapelNotesRegistration District
Abbotsley1St. Neots
Buckden4St. Neots
Catworth5St. Neots
Earith6St. Ives
Hilton11St. Ives
Kimbolton2 registrations13St. Neots
Old Weston14Thrapston
Ramsey Heights15Huntingdon
Ramsey Herne16Huntingdon
Ramsey, High Street17Huntingdon
Raveley Magna18Huntingdon
Saint IvesOn the Waits19St. Ives
Saint Neots20St. Neots
Somersham22St. Ives
Toseland25St. Neots


No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.