Frithville is a village near Boston, also referred to, in part, as Mount Pleasant. There have been two Wesleyan chapels here; both buildings, now closed, are extant.
The earliest was erected in 1838 on Westville Road, in the settlement known as Mount Pleasant. Brick-built, it seated 80. It closed in 1900 on the opening of the new chapel, but remained in use as a Sunday school until sold circa 1940. It is now a dwelling called Chapel Bungalow.
Just down the road, foundation stones for the second edifice were laid on 5th October 1899. The opening took place on 23rd February 1900, with the Rev Marmaduke Champness, founder of the Joyful News Mission (Rochdale), officiating. Although the chapel had a recorded seating capacity of 150, apparently in excess of 200 folk turned up for the event!
This not very large building would have given the illusion of bigness in the flat landscape. Nonetheless, it was a testament to Frithville’s Wesleyans having come a long way in sixty years.
Circuits: Boston Wesleyan to union, and Boston Centenary Methodist thereafter.
The chapel closed in 1973, although Methodist services continued for a time elsewhere – the village hall?
In 1995 it was advertised for sale at £15,000, and now stands unrestored within the curtilage of commercial premises. On the front gable end is the date stone: Wesleyan Chapel 1899.
Wesleyan Returns of Accommodation 1873
Boston Guardian 24th February 1900
Methodist Church Buildings: Statistical Returns 1940